Showing posts with label work. Show all posts
Showing posts with label work. Show all posts

Monday, April 17, 2017

My first D&D!

Call me weird, but I've always wanted to go for a company's dinner and dance! I don't know what's so special about it but it looks fun.

I had butterflies in my tummy the whole day today! I've got to admit, I was looking forward to tonight since yesterday! The theme for the D&D was "Hollywood Movie Star". I thought it would be fun to dress-up but I have no idea what character to dress-up as so I went for something black and something me instead. Love said he would wear something similar so that we can be matchy matchy (but he wore more navy blue instead of black eventho I told him I'm wearing black.) Made me look forward to D&D even more because Love's going with me!

There was a change in our working shifts cause of the event so I was working from 11 - 3pm instead. So I got ready at 3+ while Love was training. Initial plan was to train before getting ready but it was already nearly 4pm and I knew I definitely would take longer to get ready (because I couldn't decide on what to wear and yes I brought the dress and the jumper to work). Love doesn't like to wait so I decided to forego training and start getting ready. Was having a hard time deciding my make up, which lip colour, which dress etc.. Didn't know that Love was all ready!

As soon as he saw me, the first thing he said was "omg you took more than an hour to get ready!" I was pissed. Firstly, he didn't tell me that he was ready. I was still in the toilet so there's no way I'd know when he finished training. and secondly, instead of a compliment, that's what he said instead? Seriously? I tried so hard to dress up and all I got was "omg you took an hour to get ready!". I was utterly upset. When I told him we should take Grab and I was already booking it, he kept talking about taking the train instead and in the end we did. I was not comfortable with what I wearing because I don't know how I looked. My confidence level was sub-zero but I had to put up a front. He asked if I was uncomfortable which I said yes to but we still ended up taking the train. My excitement for the D&D was slowly decreasing at this point of time. When we arrived at the place, there were many others who looked way better and Love couldn't stop exclaiming and saying how good they look. My morale at this point of time really dipped. Not even a single compliment or at least something positive from him to me. Wanted a nice photo with him but it ended up being an awkward photo instead. Why i chose the word awkward? He stood a distance away from me, standing in completely formal position. I don't see why we can't stand close and wrap our arms over each other's shoulders. I mean, he can take pictures with others like that. Standing close and even putting his arm over the other person's shoulder but when taking pics with me, he;s always standing further away. I understand this whole don't want people to know thing but people already know! And it wasn't a formal event. and even if people don't know about us, we can just be close friends taking a friendly picture together! I can't help but get upset at all this "little" things because it hurts me. And it's not easy to share these things with him because he won't understand, from my point of view.

I managed to hold it all in till the end of the event, Went home with mixed feelings. I enjoyed the fact that I went D&D with Love and spent the whole evening with him, but I can't deny the number of times I felt hurt tonight... Maybe I'll wake up feeling better.

Monday, March 27, 2017

Moanday.

First day of Active Health today. I foresee 4 days straight of Starbucks and Foodfare since the course is spread out into 4 days.. Not that I'm complaining but I can certainly hear my wallet screaming. lol. Not really a good time to be spending so much since I'm going for a trip next week. But then again, I still need to eat.....  Not sure what to expect for this course either.. Waiting for Love to go get breakfast pairing at STARBUCKS.

Friday, March 24, 2017

Dating at Work.

Feeling super depleted this morning. Woke up at 3+ in the morning (again) and went back to sleep. Was awoken by noises and realised it was already 6.30am! Hali didn’t bring home her keys yesterday and Abang Rosli is on MC, which means I have to open the sports hall and office by 7! Was really hoping Dicky was the FI for the morning cause Uncle Goh isn’t working on Fridays and only Dicky has the office keys. If he’s not working then that would mean more trouble for me cause some gym members are not easy to deal with. So I ended up opening the sports hall 5 minutes late and some badminton players were saying things like “wah open late ah. Need to complain to town council” which I totally ignored cause 1) I’m human and humans makes mistakes like waking up late too (and he should be thankful I wasn’t late for 30 minutes) and 2) we are not under town council. Didn’t want to make it spoil my day so I just left after unlocking the gates. Am so glad Dicky was working and the gym has started operating already.

Finally joined the Resistance Band class after missing out the past 3 weeks. The ladies positive energy is just what I needed. Love seeing how motivated they are and they always treat us like their own children. Even though I was super tired and sore, it was still as fun as always.

After the class, Love and I made our way to Suntec City for the 50plus 2017 convention. Love asked if I wanted to come along and do the workout with him which I (obviously) agreed to. I was more excited to be out of office this time cause it’s an event with Love and targets the seniors which Love and I have been running programmes for. Went for brunch at Suntec’s Starbucks before heading to the convention hall. Honestly no idea what to expect at all. Went through the plan while having our brunch and I was confident it would work out well because Love did all the planning. True enough, the whole thing went smoothly except for the timing but that was not our control cause the timing part was not planned properly by the organizers (I feel). Love did some alterations during the workout which was one of his fortes. He’s able to change things on the spot smoothly and seeing how time is running out, he managed to alter accordingly. Stayed a while to join the Basic Japanese class and boy was it entertaining. Love is leaving for Japan in a week so he wanted to learn some basics.
Headed to Starbucks again after to get beef pie for Love. I was still full tbh but I didn’t want Love to have to squeeze and eat so much later at night. So got myself the tomato flatbread and another cup of coffee! Walked the whole Suntec cause we made the wrong turn and only realised when we were reaching the North wing which was in the middle so continued walking to East wing to take the train from Promenade instead.

We headed to Sports Hub to train at the gym there after the whole day of movement. My energy level by then was only 45% but since I’ve already told Love I wanted to go to the gym again and I know Love would want to train. I wanted to bench cause I didn’t bench on Tuesday but ended up being super disappointed with myself when I couldn’t bench 25kg. Felt like a weakling. I was really on the verge of crying. As much as I didn’t want to show, I think Love got the feeling that I wasn’t happy. Didn’t want to give up so did other machine exercises instead. My wisdom tooth kept being a b*tch and I had to handle both the pain and my fatigue. Love kept saying “now you know how I feel” and “Rabak seh you tired” which did pissed me off but I didn’t want to spoil the day so I just kept quiet. Can’t complain about my aching tooth too. Spent 2+ hours at the gym with longer rest time today but I still had a decent session I guess.


The thing I loved most today was being able to go dating with love throughout the whole day! Perks of working together with the significant other! Brunch date after band class, dating at the roof garden while waiting for our segment to start at Suntec, tea-break date after event and gym date!


Wednesday, February 8, 2017

Work Work Work

Lately, it's all been about work. I think 85% of my life revolves around work. Even after working hours, it's still work. Off day, still work.

Took an hour off from work to go Starbucks with love today. Initial plan was to take mc but since love's working, I went to work too. Went to Kallang Leisure Park's Starbucks cause Bedok Points quite crowded and we needed space. Love has his page to settle and i had proposals to complete. It was nice having him with me eventhough we were both busy with our work. Just his presence makes me feel more comfortable no matter where i am and how stressed i feel. I love it when smiles. Truth is, the reason why I can still hold everything in at work is because of him.

Anyways, I managed to finish 2 proposals and posters in 3 hours! That's an accomplishment!

I used to think that planning events is fun. In fact, i used to think work is fun. I looked forward to going to work. Now, i dread to go. I wish i can stay in bed longer. I wish i dont have deadlines to meet. I wish politics dont exist.

But hey, that's life.

Sunday, February 5, 2017

Rest Day.

Took time-off today cause this girl's gotta slow down and get some rest! Work has been crazy and I'm on the verge of breaking down. Plus, this cramps are crazy. 

Been working for 15hrs straight for the past 2 days, running here and there for the Event. On top of that, the managers have been pressuring me with back to back events planning with datelines so close to each other. Planning includes, coming up with the event, proposals, posters and marketing which is mostly done by my Hali cause I suck at marketing. Having new managers made me feel more stressed and pressured I think. I've always disliked being asked and talking about work after hours cause hello, it's after working hours. I didn't sign a contract that says I'm working 24 hours a day. I need some work-life balance but the past few weeks, it's been 24 hours work. Even on off days. No, I'm not complaining about coming back to work for Pool Walk/Resistance band. I love going to work for them cause the ballerinas and ballerinos, as we call them, never fails to brighten up my day. 

I don't consider today a productive off day. Not really a well-rested one either but it's good to have days like this i suppose. All I did today was grocery shopping, eat, iron work uniform (see work again!), eat, watch some online shows as destress, eat, fell asleep, blog and I'm gonna cook for dinner after I finish this blog. And on top of it all, I really wish Love's with me. 

I blame this unproductive day on my cramps. Period. 

Growing up is really crazy. No joke.